Home / Education / Universities / Sambalpur University

Sambalpur University

The Sambalpur University Act was passed by the Orissa Legislature on 10th December, 1966 with an objective to fulfill long cherished dream of the people of Western Orissa for establishment of a University.  The University startedfunctioning from 1st January, 1967 with Prof.Parsuram Mishra as the first Vice-Chancellor.

The territorial jurisdiction of the University covers 10 districts of the state of Orissa namely Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Bargarh, Bolangir, Subarnapur, Nawapara, Kalahandi, Boudh and Athamallik Sub-Division of Angul District.

The University at Jyoti Vihar provides Post-Graduate education in Twenty-sevensubjects through Twenty Post-Graduate Departments.

The University Post-Graduate Departments offer one-year study Programme for M.Phil Degree, two years study programme for the Degrees of M.A./M.Sc./LL.M./ Business Administration/ M.Lib & Inf.Science, One-Year P.G. Diploma Course inComputer Science & Application and Diploma Course in Sambalpuri Studies and Three-Year course in M.C.A. and Executive M.B.A.

The P.G. Departments of Chemistry, Life Sciences, History, Economics, Library & Information Sciences and Mathematics have been conferred Autonomous Status by the University.

Contact Details

Address: Sambalpur University
Jyoti Vihar Burla
Sambalpur – 768 019 Orissa
Type: State University
Fax: 663 – 430158
E-mail: chairman@sambalpuruniversitypgc.in, researchcell@sambalpuruniversitypgc.in, centraloffice@sambalpuruniversitypgc.in, admin@sambalpuruniversitypgc.in
Website: www.sambalpuruniversitypgc.in
Vice Chancellor:
Phone : 0663-2401147
Phone : 0663 2430157(O)2431320(R)
Fax : 2430158

Check Also

Biju Patnaik University of Technology ( BPUT )

The Biju Patnaik University of Technology ( BPUT ), Orissa, has its head-quarters in Rourkela which established ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *