Home / Education / Universities / Berhampur University

Berhampur University

The Berhampur University was established on 2nd January 1967 and was inaugurated by Dr. A.N. Khosla, the then Governor of Orissa and the first Chancellor of the University. The University was later shifted to the present site known as Bhanja Bihar. Its overall area is spread over two hundred fifty acres the universityis twelve kilometres and 5 kilometers away from the Berhampur City and Sea-beach of Gopalpur respectively.

The university has a wide area under its jurisdiction comprising the districts of Ganjam. In university there are twenty post-graduate departments in theuniversity offering specialized subjects and M. Phil programmes. Some of the faculties in the university like  Mass Communication, Tourism and Indian Monuments, Electronic Science, Computer Science, Marine Science, Military Science make the University stand different from some other universities of the country.

Therefore, the university has achieved great distinction in the academic world due to the qualitative and quantitative production of M. Phil., Ph.D., D. Litt and D. Sc degrees. So far many projects, major and minor funded by the U.G.C., I.C.S.S.R., C.S.I.R. and D.S.T. etc. have been completed.

Currently, the Campus has eight teaching blocks, eight hostels, a health centre, an Engineering Office, a guest house, an M.E. School, a High School/Junior College, a Library, a Museum-cum-Archival Cell, a landing ground, a Play ground, a Sports Council centre, a shopping complex, a Canteen, an S.B.I. Branch, a Post Office, three temples and an Administrative Building with a Distant Education Cell and a College Development Council.

Contact Details

Berhampur University
Bhanja Bihar Distt. Ganjam
Berhampur – 760 007 Orissa
Type: State University
Pin: 760007
Tel: 0680- 2242172, 2242173, 2242174, 2242232, 2243615, 2243616, 2243404
Fax: 6811 – 2243322
Website: http://www.bamu.nic.in
Vice Chancellor
Phone : 0680- 2242233 / 2243460 (R)
Fax : 0680- 2243322
Phone : 0680- 2242234 / 2243122 (R)

Check Also

Biju Patnaik University of Technology ( BPUT )

The Biju Patnaik University of Technology ( BPUT ), Orissa, has its head-quarters in Rourkela which established ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *