Home / Odisha / Districts / Ganjam / Ganjam Dsitrict

Ganjam Dsitrict



Ganjam district is named after the Old Township and European fort of Ganjam. The name Ganjam comes from the word Gan-i-aam which means Granary of the World. It is spreading over the geographical area of 8070.60 square km. in Odisha. There are 22 blocks, 475 Grampanchayats, 18 Urban Local bodies, 3229 villages, 29 Police Stations and 13 Assembly Constituencies.

Ganjam district is broadly divided into two divisions, the coastal plains area in the east and hill and table lands in the west. The eastern ghats run along the western side of the district. The plains lies between the eastern ghats and the Bay of Bengal. Since the hills are close to the sea, the rivers flowing from hills are not very long and are subject to sudden floods. The plains are narrow because of the absence of big rivers. The coastal plains in the east contain more fertile and irrigated lands. Towards the centre and south it is hilly with beautiful well watered valley. The south eastern portion is fertile. The extreme north east is occupied by a portion of the famous Chilika lake.

The most primitive tribes like Kandha, Savara and Nolea are her indigenous inhabitants telling the story of her ancient most motherhood. She maintains a heroic profile with the brilliant legacy of ancient Kalinga, her overseas colonies in the eastern archiplago, the unchallenged naval power, the devastations Kalinga War, where in her offsprings proved the best of their chivalry. Still more praiseworthy are her people of ancient Kalinga, who taking part in the great Maha Bharat war from the side of the Kauravas, with the warring elephants of Mahendragiri had proved the best their bravery against the Pandavas.

General Facts about Ganjam

Coordinates 19°22′59″N 85°03′00″E
Country India
State Orissa
Headquarters Chhatrapur
Nearest city Bhubaneswar
Collector Shri V. K.Pandian, IAS
Member of Parliament Siddhanta Mahapatra, BJD
Parliamentary constituency Berhampur
Assembly constituency 7, 1.Chhatrapur, 2. Gopalpur, 3. Berhampur, 4. Chikati, 5. Mohana, 6. Ramagiri and 7. Paralakhemundi.
3,160,635 (2001)
385 /km2 (997 /sq mi)
Sex ratio 1.002 /
Official languages Odia, Hindi, English, Telugu
Time zone IST (UTC+5:30)
Area 8,070.6 square kilometres (3,116.1 sq mi)
1,295.6 mm (51.01 in)


Places of interest

  • Mausimaa Temple
  • Bhetanai near Aska for the famous Black Bucks
  • Gopalpur on Sea
  • Maa Tara Tarini Temple, Purushottampur
  • Dam near Bhanjanagar
  • Balunkeswar Temple, B.D Pur
  • Budhakhol near Buguda
  • Kalingaghati
  • Dhabaleswar Temple
  • Taptapani (hot spring)
  • Upendranagar (Kullada, Bagdevi Temple, Fort, Jagannath Temple)
  • Mahuri Kalua
  • Bhairavi Temple and Sonpur beach (15 km from temple)
  • Kanaka Durga Thakurani Temple at Kodola Athagarh.
  • Sri Jagannath Temple at Dharakote
  • Maa Mahamayee Thakurani Temple at (Kabisurya Nagar)
  • Maa Singhasani near Polasara
  • Maa Narayani Temple
  • Panchama Ganesh Temple
  • Maa Singhasani near Polasara
  • Malati Mountain at Keshari palli near Nimina on Aska -Bhanjanagar State Highway.
  • Lord Lakshmi Nrusingh Temple,Bellaguntha
  • Jaugada (Historical place of Ashok raja), at pandia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *